“I bet you don’t have fur and a fluffy tail in RL!”

Khoisan in SL and in RL ... spot the difference?

OK, I admit it: I’m not 25 years old. Or 30. Or however old my avatar may look. And you are probably no spring chicken either. Nor do I, in real life, have the kind of body that suggests I’ve frittered away too many of my waking hours in the gym. Nor of course am I, in the real world, seven-foot-something tall. As for my hair, let’s not even go there. But, let’s face it, how many aging avatars with unexceptional physiques does one see in Second Life? Not many, huh? We generally just go with the flow, trot off to the usual outlets for our 20-something skins and shapes rather than scouring the obscurer reaches of the grid for the elusive 50-something avatar that will still bear scant resemblance to who we are in real life.

So I’m always intrigued to occasionally hear, or to read in curmudgeonly profiles, residents railing against their fellow residents on matters of avatar appearance.  Most commonly the comments are with regard to height, residents sanctimoniously professing that, since they’re five-foot-whatever in Real Life, they’ve scaled their avatars to that very same height in Second Life.  And, by implication, so should everyone else.  Thus I was pleased to read recently in a female resident’s sober and intelligent profile:

There are some sorry souls who, while appearing to accept that the Linden dollar does not map directly to the US dollar, that the value of the US dollar is not pegged to the value of the Zimbabwean dollar, that a bra size or shoe size in Switzerland does not map directly to a bra size or shoe size in the USA, and that a US mile is not an British mile, nevertheless seem to be under the odd misapprehension that measurements in SL should be commensurate with the meters and feet by which we measure in RL. My height in SL is set to 65% of maximum in a range 1.87m to 2.39m, which when translated into RL would suggest that I am probably far shorter in SL than my RL 5’6″ / 168cm. Please consider this before making a fool of yourself by telling me that I appear to be 2.2m / 7’3″ tall 🙂

Height apart, the more general issue is with regard to whether one feels there ought to be, as a matter of honesty, any degree of resemblance between one’s real-life appearance and one’s avatar appearance.  And to reflect upon this “ought to be” is self evidently to reflect upon, not Second Life itself nor upon any presumed set of unwritten rules, but the presupposition on the part of some residents that graphically honest self-representation is important.

I was interested to note, last academic year, that three of my male students had chosen to have female avatars.  I asked one of the three why he had made this choice, to which he unhesitatingly replied that, if he had to be sitting at his screen working for so many hours at a time, it would at least be nice to have something attractive to look at.  (My friend Alexi coincidentally today sent me a similar remark from a discussion group participant who too had chosen to create a female avatar: “It’s nicer to look at a female’s ass then male ass when I stare at the screen”.)  I took it that this remark, in turn, said something interesting about his relationship to his avatar and, beyond that, his stance towards Second Life: that he did not in any sense identify with his avatar, whom he saw as no more than a visually pleasing building tool, an extension of his keyboard and mouse, through which he accomplished his content-creation work, and that consequently his stance was one of disengagement from any in-world life as an avatar.  This seemed to me an unsurprising conclusion, given that presumably most of my students were in SL solely for purposes of completing the modules they’d need for their undergraduate degrees in computing.

So I’ll now return to the gripes of those self-righteous residents who expect some degree of authenticity of self-representation: why do I hear them whinge about an avatar’s height or size of boobs or muscles that suggest a diet of steroids, yet never “I bet you don’t have fur and a fluffy tail in RL”?

I’ll be taking this topic further in a longer essay, ‘Virtual embodiment, body image, and radical body modification’, but in the meanwhile I leave you with a few questions: How important to you is authenticity of appearance?  Quite independently of more complex issues of persona or digital personhood, what do you consider to be your primary stance towards your avatar’s appearance? an idealised representation of yourself? a pure fantasy? a digital tool?  What considerations determined your choice of skin, shape, hair, and other core features of avatar appearance?  Your comments and views are, as always, eagerly sought and always welcome.

This entry was posted in Identity, Transformation. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “I bet you don’t have fur and a fluffy tail in RL!”

  1. The student who made the comment about wanting a female ass to look at reminds me of Doug Hoffstadter’s concept of people as ‘curious planetoids’. Noting that people are prolific imitators almost from birth, Hoffstadter said “we are all curious collages, weird little planetoids that grow by accreting other people’s habits and ideas and styles and tics and phrases and hopes and fears as if they are meteorites…gradually becomes as much a part of us as it ever was of someone else”.

    In the case of the student, if he is studying virtual worlds and identity exploration therein, it is highly likely he has come across that line of reasoning before. It is by no means uncommon for a guy to say he chose a female avatar because he would rather look at a woman than a man. Perhaps this is one simple example of someone copying other people and incorporating their ideas and phrases into one’s own repertoire. Maybe, possibly, parroting this oft-told excuse for choosing a female gender was a kind of defence against curious minds whose questions might probe to deeper, more complex reasons for adopting a female avatar. Better fob them off with a jokey, macho comment then get into more heartfelt reasons for doing this. I do not necessarily mean the guy is a closet transexual. I mean..whatever the complex set of reasons people dream up characters of opposing gender.

    Alternatively, maybe he was just stating the simple truth?

    Getting back to Hoffsadter, SL does emphasise this notion of a person as ‘curious collage’. I often make the comment that I (and pretty much everyone else) is a walking ensemble of other people’s content. I say that because other people designed my hair and body and makeup and clothes and even the way I walk and sit and stand relaxed. I just put all those bits and peaces together based on my intuition of what suited me. Having said that, although that is what I *am*, it is not really how I feel. My appearance feels very much like it *is* me.

    But there is also another way in which other people play a part in shaping our visual appearance. Namely, societal pressure. I will leave you with a comment Scarp Godenot made at a recent Thinkers event:

    “Can you remember when you first entered SL what you wanted to make your avatar like? I wanted to make an ugly old avatar, just to shake things up because all I saw was good looking people. I quickly found out that people didn’t want to talk to an Ugly Old person! ha ha ha”.

  2. Khoisan Fisher says:

    Many thanks, once again, for your thoughtful and incisive comments, Extropia … and for reminding me of Hofstadter’s wonderful I Am a Strange Loop. (I must re-read it.) I’m reminded, too, of Micha Cordenas’ 365-hour marathon as a dragon in SL by the end of which she claims to have found herself thinking through the body of a dragon.

    Yes, I’m sure you are right about “curious minds whose questions might probe to deeper, more complex reasons for adopting a female avatar”. This, taken alongside Hofstadter’s observation, has interesting consequences which I explore elsewhere (but have yet to publish). The potential inherent in SL for radical transformation, whether consciously so on the part of the user or not, makes it both a powerful and a palpably dangerous tool for unconstrained thought-experiment … an amalgam of laboratory for Gedankenexperiment and alchemical vas philosophorum. Elsewhere I’ve explored this in the context of Antonin Artaud’s theories of theatre … note to myself: must post this to the blog.

  3. Joe says:

    Your students answer sounds like a deflection answer. One intended to be plausible but not holey true.
    It is also one I have used to explain away why I play a female AV. I have also given the answer that men are hard wired to help females in need and it was easier to get someone to help me when I had an issue.
    The truth for me is that if given the opportunity to explore life as anything or anyone else I chose to do so as a female. They are complex and a mystery to most men, as such I thought I could learn the most. They say to truly know someone you must walk a mile in their shoes. So after half a decade of playing SL and walking in pumps, flats, wedges, sandals, etc I can say it has been the most enlightening, soul searching, and mind broadening experience I have ever had.
    Let me note here, RL == Straight Male SL == Straight Female. I am not gay nor do I have cross dressing or cross gender fantasies. In SL I play all aspects of her life including ones of a sexual nature.
    I tried to find an e-mail address to send a message to but did not find one listed on the Blog. I am willing to answer any questions on the subject with honest and open answers.

Leave a comment